Uncategorized

When an author just doesn’t know when to end a book series, and more

Hey everyone!  I am a bit pissed off right now, so I have come to the place humankind knows as the “internet” to deliver my book-related author-related rant.

DISCLAIMER:

If I will offend anyone with this rant, please don’t take it personally.  I have absolutely NOTHING against mothers trying to get their child ahead of the average child by reading them older, more mature books, or a ten year old fangirl who is truly passionate about reading.  I used to be that ten year old girl, and my own parents did such things.  So, please don’t be offended personally. 

Here it goes.

We all know the hit-book blockbusters, Percy Jackson, The Mortal Instruments, that kind of thing?

And, we also know (if you don’t know you will soon realize) the series just well, carried on FOREVER.

Percy Jackson

original: five 200 paged books

Then, Rick Riordan was like

“OMG look how much Percy Jackson made me!  Now, I will just make crappy movie(s) with “actors” that are like ten years older than the actual characters and drag Percy and Annabeth on another dumb extremely long adventure with more characters!!  Yippee! I’m rich from the idiots (no offense) of the Percy Jackson fandom!”

I didn’t mean to personally offend anyone there, and to be honest, I enjoyed the Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus.  But, it really was not necessary at ALL.

Percy Jackson was originally made so 8-15 year old kids could have some fun things to read, and was inspired by Mr. Riordan;s son, and viewed by middle school children, the children that HE himself taught.

Heroes of Olympus, on the other hand, seemed to me that it was made for money purposes and to keep him as a top author and keep Percy Jackson alive when his future should have been left to the imagination.

Two prophecies? Really?  If Percy was REALLY part of two extremely important prophecies, he would have been… a lot more recognized, respected, and more, I don’t know, IMPORTANT to the main plot overall.  Instead, Rick Riordan just sort of tossed Percy aside like a piece of used garbage.  I mean, he didn’t even get a P.O.V in the last book.

Instead, Rick Riordan just used lesser characters, and turned them into heroes when he realized that 10 year old girls were starting to “fall in love” with them.

To be honest, why keep Percy around if your not even going to use him?  Here’s my guess; without Percy, most of the original fandom would have left and gone to reading other more advanced series.  What would be left would be inexperienced children who just joined the “fandom” mainly because the “heroes” that Rick Riordan included were “adorable,” “handsome,” and “cute.”

Even WITH Percy around, a lot of the PJO fandom left anyways.  Though, Mr. Riordan does deserve some credit.  When he made Nico a lesbian and made him fall in love with Percy, a bunch of mommies were leaving angry comments like

“This book is so inappropriate for my three-year old daughter.  I used to enjoy reading this series to her to get her ahead, but then you turned Nico into a lesbian.  THIS IS NOT APPROPRIATE FOR MY CHILD!  It astounds me how careless he is to the younger readers of his books.   I will no longer be reading his books to my child, and I hope he gets rid of Nico immediately.”

Um hello lady?? There’s a clear reason to why the book is marked 11-14 or whatever.  I was actually on his side when I saw those comments around the web.  He was probably just trying to make his books more “mature” and attract an older group of readers.

Dear parents who sent that message: Next time you read a book to your precious three-year-old child, please check the age group and when your child is NOT included in it, there might be reason to that.  You get what I’m saying?

The same thing goes with the Mortal Instruments.

That series should have ended three books ago, when the author (Cassandra Clare) SAID it was the end.  Instead, she just kept on DRAGGING the series on and on and on, and soon it became boring, stupid, and made me want to throw the book down and leave it. FOREVER.

Although some people might be thinking I am just a hater/internet troll, let me tell you that I used to be a DIEHART fan of these series.  I mean, they were my actual LIFE. Now, I am just really frustrated with them, and I wish something could be done about it.

If I offended anyone with this rant, please don’t take it personally.  I have absolutely NOTHING against mothers trying to get their child ahead of the average child by reading them older, more mature books, or a ten year old fangirl who is truly passionate about reading.  I used to be that ten year old girl, and my own parents did such things.  So, please don’t be offended personally.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this rant.

Lottie xx

Leave a Reply

