Uncategorized

The Demon King Book Review & Discussion

Hello my fellow readers!

Over the past week or two, I have had my nose dug into the Seven Realms Series.  When I finished the entire series, I realized these books were simply too good to just pass on by, and therefore I decided to create a book review and discussion on the first book of the series, The Demon King.  If you have not read the book/series, I recommend only reading until the review part (which will be spoiler-free,) then leaving once I transition into the discussion.

Have fun reading!

DEMON KING
The Demon King-Book 1 of the Seven Realms Series

Title: The Demon King (Seven Realms Series)

Author: Cinda Williams Chima

Basic Synopsis (Goodreads):Times are hard in the mountain city of Fellsmarch. Reformed thief Han Alister will do almost anything to eke out a living for his family. The only thing of value he has is something he can’t sell—the thick silver cuffs he’s worn since birth. They’re clearly magicked—as he grows, they grow, and he’s never been able to get them off.

One day, Han and his clan friend, Dancer, confront three young wizards setting fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han takes an amulet from Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, to keep him from using it against them. Soon Han learns that the amulet has an evil history—it once belonged to the Demon King, the wizard who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. With a magical piece that powerful at stake, Han knows that the Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.

Meanwhile, Raisa ana‘Marianna, princess heir of the Fells, has her own battles to fight. She’s just returned to court after three years of freedom in the mountains—riding, hunting, and working the famous clan markets. Raisa wants to be more than an ornament in a glittering cage. She aspires to be like Hanalea—the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world. But her mother has other plans for her…

The Seven Realms tremble when the lives of Hans and Raisa collide, fanning the flames of the smoldering war between clans and wizards.

Review:First of all, I just wanted to let all of my readers know that I absolutely ADORED this book.  In my opinion, the first book of the series was probably the best out of the four, with the others not to far behind.

Han Allister, one of the two main characters of the book was definitely my favorite character of the entire series.  His dialogue and actions made him extremely endearing in my opinion, and the way he cares so much about whats left of his family really explains everything to the reader.

Raisa ‘ana Marianna was tolerable.  At first, I was sort of on level ground with her.  Of course, I enjoyed reading about her and her character, and I looked forward to see what she would be accomplishing in the future.  As the story progressed, I grew to love reading about her decisions and how simply headstrong she was.  Yes, she was a strong female character, and yet she was still naive and uneducated on the ways of the world.  I was throughly surprised when I learned how much she really wanted to be queen of Fellsmarch and to change her queendom for the better, and then I instantly knew I would have no more troubles with Raisa.

I was happy with how the author approached the way Raisa and Han “Cuffs Allister” would meet.  Him being an ex-streetlord and her being disguised as a peasant when really she was princess heir brought me great joy and pure happiness.  (As one should know, it was midnight and my brain wasn’t exactly working in the greatest of conditions at the time.)  It simple, realistic, and heartwarming, (to me, only me of course) and I thank the author for that scene.

One thing I would like to mention however was Cinda Chima’s portration of the enemies.  At first, it seemed like all the wizards were at fault and the clans were the “good guys,” but later in the book/series, the readers find out that is not necessarily true.  We could see a point of view from both of the rivals sides, instead of the classic black and white good and bad.  I applaud the author on this point, as it most definitely made me think and wonder about the characters and the story in itself.

Spoilers ahead! Will be discussing the ending!!!

The way the ending played out nearly broke my heart.  As books usually go, the main characters families don’t normally die by the end of the first book.  The way the people set fire and burned a women and a seven year old child nearly made me cry in anger, and I grew a deep disliking for the queen, the Bayars, and the people under the control of them.  That scene along with many others make me wonder what in the world could make someone do something so absolutely despicable?

Thanks to anyone who is still reading!!

Have a great day guys,

jacqueline

One thought on “The Demon King Book Review & Discussion

Leave a Reply

