book discussion · book review · fandom forever · magnus chase

The Sword of Summer | Review/Discussion

Hey everyone! Long time no talk!

To be honest, I finished this book a while ago (end of October.)  I don’t think many people realize how much time and effort I spend on my blog posts and booktube videos.  It is quite a bit!  As an excuse however, here are my list of problems (hint hint: it’s mainly school)

1.) French

2.) Math honors

3.) addiction to anime

4.) laziness

5.) life in general

It’s been a bit hard to find time to work on posting on here and youtube, but here I am!  Bonjour!  I am here to stay!  (probably not.  haha)

The Sword of Summer | Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard author: Rick Riordan
The Sword of Summer | Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard
author: Rick Riordan

Summary (goodreads): Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . ..

Review: Overall, I am disappointed.  I expected so much more for the new series of Rick Riordan.  But alas, perhaps my expectations were simply to high.  I was blinded by the sheer greatness of Percy Jackson and the Kane Chronicles, and my exceptions were sky-high for a third time.  This book was a sort of rip-off off the Percy Jackson series.

You know those really expensive UGG boots that everyone loves?  Currently on the market, there is about an infinity and one rip-offs of those, copies sold for a less expensive price.

The Sword of Summer was one of those copies, and Percy Jackson/ Heroes of Olympus was it’s UGG boot.

Magnus was a less funny, sarcastic version of Percy.  Like, Percy Jackson mature 2.0.

Lines such as:

“‘The bridge.” That explained everything.  There were, like, twenty bridges in the Boston area.  

or

‘She looked like the maid of honor at someone’s Mortal Kombat wedding.” 

Things something Percy would say, eh?

This book takes place in Boston, which is located about forty minutes from where I live.  #represent

The relationships in the book are a tad bit more complicated than usual.  The two main characters of opposite gender are not hopelessly entangled with each other, and for that, I am surprised that I did not mind it the least little bit.  Sam was in love with some other dude, and Magnus was well, single forever.

I did learn quite a bit about Norse mythology in this book, and five points to Mr. Riordan as he made the learning process quite natural.  Greek mythology and Egyptian mythology is quite common, and many people do know the very basics of it, therefore creating a story based around the mythology quite a bit easier, as the author does not have to worry about the reader being confused.

Norse mythology from my viewpoint is quite a bit less popular, so Rick Riordan had to be more careful with how approached writing the characters.  He used figurehead characters such as Thor or Loki, as they are probably more well known than many others.  Then, he gradually increased and explained the amount of information in such a natural way, I feel I was not at all confused throughout the whole story.

Although this story may not match up with powerhouses of Rick Riordan’s such as Percy Jackson and the Olympians, it is still quite a good story.  Of course, this is my opinion and my opinion only, if you readers disagreed with any of the points I made in this post, please feel free to mention them to me in the comments! I would love to know all of your opinions.

Have a great rest of your day everybody!

jacqueline

Leave a Reply

