Reading TBRs

Booktube-A-Thon Reading TBR!

Hello everybody!  This year, I will officially be participating in the 2016 Booktube-A-Thon and will be attempting to complete all the challenges.  Therefore, I have compiled a list of “to be read” books, which I will be sharing with you all today.

For information on the Booktube-A-Thon, click here.

My video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3buMqpch2w

Challenge #1: Read a book with yellow on the cover.

For this, I picked I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios.


21469068.jpg

Goodreads Summary: If Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing separating Skylar from art school is three months of summer…until Skylar’s mother loses her job, and Skylar realizes her dreams may be slipping out of reach.

Josh had a different escape route: the Marines. But after losing his leg in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be.

What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and, soon, something deeper.

Compelling and ultimately hopeful, this is a powerful examination of love, loss, and resilience.


As you can probably see, this book has plenty of yellow on the cover, which is the motel sign and lettering.  The sunset can also count, right?

I had wanted to read this book for a long, long time, but unfortunately, I had never got around to doing it.  This Read-A-Thon is a perfect chance for me to finally get around to reading this probably amazing story.

(as a sidenote, you will probably see me saying that last paragraph quite often.  Because it’s true.)

Challenge #2: Read a book only after sunset. 

(I will be combining this challenge with Challenge #5, which will be down below.)

For this challenge, I will be reading the book A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.


885195.jpg

First published in 1859, A Tale of Two Cities is one of Dickens’s most famous and popular novels. This stirring tale, set in the late eighteenth century against the backdrop of the French Revolution, is a novel for all generations. Filled with adventure and love, revolution and terror, it transports the reader to a time of political upheaval and solutions by guillotine.

 

 

 


There are so many covers of this book, it definitely took some searching to find the same cover of my own!

Ahh, I was looking around on my bookshelf, browsing through some classics (you’ll see why in challenge #5) I came across this one.  It’s a nice, short read with an easy-to-see text, which is something I find a lot of classic books don’t have.

Challenge #3: Read a book you discovered through booktube

Well, considering I discover most of my books through booktube or goodreads, this shouldn’t be too hard.  Therefore, I picked November 9 by Colleen Hoover.


8182bkEoHZL.jpgFallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

 

 

 


Ahhh this book sounds so interesting! I am so excited to read this, and I’ve heard lots of great things about this book.  This is probably one of my most anticipated booktube-a-thon reads.

Challenge #4: Read a book by one of your favorite authors.  

Hmmm…. I have two books available for this, but both of them are by the same author.

The first is This Savage Song by V.E Schwab, and the second is Vicious by Victoria Schwab.

Yes, they are the same person as you all probably know.


13638125.jpgVictor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the arch-nemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?


23299512.jpgThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


Both of these books sound absolutely delightful but I will probably be starting out with This Savage Song simply because I have the actual book for that and I will be reading Vicious as an e-book.

I absolutely adore V.E Schwab/ Victoria Schwab’s writing, and this challenge is by far my favorite of the seven or so.

Challenge #5: Read a book that is older than you

(I will be combining Challenge #5 with Challenge #2)

Once again, I will be reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.  Full details about the book will be stuff you already read above.

Also, considering this book was first published in 1859 and I am not 157 years old, I feel as I am fully liable to read this book.

Yes, I’m younger than 157 years.

Challenge #6: Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation

For this challenge, I will be reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and watching the new movie adaptation.


15507958.jpgLou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.


I’ve seen this book all around booktube and goodreads recently, and I finally decided to try it out!  I also watched the trailer for Me Before You only about a hundred times.  Finnick and Daenerys; who knew?

Challenge #7: Read seven books.

My seven books will be the ones listed above, one or two for each challenge.


Omg guys, I literally cannot express how excited I am for this Read-A-Thon!  It is going to be an epic week of reading, and I want you guys to join me as well!  I would absolutely love to know what you all are reading, so make sure comment your books down below.

Stay cool booknerds!!

jacqueline

Leave a Reply

